It’s a Jungle out there… An AudioJungle

As the Trimester comes to a close and it doesn’t look like any of the game developers I worked with have the energy left to even think about publishing their game, I’m left a bunch of sound effects and a couple of music tracks I want the world to see and use!

I’m not without a plan, I’m going to use two main platforms to release my full work, Sound cloud and Audio Jungle. Also all 7 sound effects and both music tracks will be teased on my Twitter, YouTube and my Official Website. The reason I’m teasing my work on some of my sites is because, although small, I still have followings on these sites and I want to get as much exposure as I can. Below I’ll explain specifically the reasoning behind using Sound cloud and Audio Jungle but first it’s important to understand what audiences I’m targeting.

Target Audiences
My overall goal in my career is to work in video game sound, either as a sound designer, composer or some combination of both. That being said when I release work I’ve done to the public I want to target two audiences:

  1. Game Developers
  2. Peers (other video game sound fanatics)

Essentially I want Game developers to see my work because they might want to hire me for their projects which will help me expand my portfolio, experience and bank account(hopefully). Peers on the other hand will help me by providing feedback on my work or networking opportunities. I know myself that if I ever meet a developer that is looking for ambient music or hip-hop, both of which are not my forte, I’ve got a few peers that I could forward their details. So with the importance of my demographic explained, how am I going to reach them?

1. Sound cloud
Sound cloud is above all one of the easiest and most popular ways for content creators to share their music and sounds. The name literally implies that it is the sound cloud as in the actual audio internet. I’ve been using sound cloud for about a year now and I’ll admit when I started I didn’t really know exactly what I was going to use it for, but as I explored it more and more I discovered it’s true potential. I noticed that many of my followers and the people I was following were others interested in video game sound and music. At first I was a little disappointed that the slim amount of attention my tracks were gaining wasn’t from any game developers. Once I got over this I realised the huge potential my sound cloud had for gathering feedback and criticism. Since everyone was a content creator of some kind, we all had something to say about each others work, although sometimes you have to probe to get more information than this:

sc-comment

When you do get a juicy comment it’s usually got some good suggestions, like this: sc-comment

So I’m going to be uploading all the sound effects and music from Scooch onto sound cloud so that I can get some exposure to my target audience. Hopefully they’ll give me some constructive feedback in comments or I might have to probe with some private messages!

2. Audio Jungle
I recently discovered the potential of Audio Jungle while watching one of my peers presentations. I’d heard of it before, back in my days as a game developer, other developers would talk about it as a good place to source royalty free sound and music for relatively low prices… That’s when all the pieces fell into place and I realised what I was missing.
Straight away and as we type I’m registering an account on Audio Jungle. Essentially Audio Jungle is a the sound and music portion of a larger group called the envato market. They provide a free market place for content creators to sell their work. The finance works by you naming a price for your content, they take half and add a small percentage on top for the buyers, called a buyer fee. You can join as either and exclusive or non-exclusive author which basically means you get a bigger percentage of your named price if you only sell your content on Audio Jungle. Only and sell being the most important words, after looking into this it means I can still use other platforms like sound cloud and YouTube to promote my work and be an exclusive author on Audio Jungle, as long as there aren’t any transactions going on elsewhere. This is how the math works:

sc-comment

For a more detailed breakdown, you can go to their site and see all the terms.
They even have a review team that looks at items uploaded to see if they’re ready to sell, they also give you a little breakdown article of things that will make your work sell-able. Although its a bit basic, it provides a good little checklist to make sure your uploads are flexible enough to be used in a few different mediums.
The only problem I have with Audio Jungle is that it doesn’t have a specific section for video game assets, so it can be hard for a developer to easily pin down assets created to fit their needs. All things considered though, I think Audio Jungle is a good place for me to publish my work, as long as I’m still promoting on YouTube, Twitter and my website so that my audience has a bigger chance of finding my work.

To sum up, my game plan for publishing and promoting my work through the next week and into the holidays will be:

  1. Upload all the Scooch assets onto all of my sites with an announcement
  2. Upload the assets onto Audio Jungle and price according to some market research

Although the splash might be small at first, I’ve discovered recently that the more splashes you make the bigger the ripples become. This is what I’m going to focus on through the holiday break, making more online splashes.

Thanks for reading as always and have a great holiday!

Corey.

 

 

 

It’s a Jungle out there… An AudioJungle

Leave a Reply

